« | »

Reid Gives Top Senate Spots To Worst Liberals

From the DNC’s house cable news network CNN:

[AP caption:] Former U.S. Presidential candidate John Kerry (background L) watches on as incoming U.S. Senate Majority leader Harry Reid (C)(D-NV) walks alongside his party colleagues on Capitol Hill November 14, 2006. Reid, a moderate Nevada Democrat, was elected by colleagues on Tuesday as U.S. Senate majority leader for the 110th Congress that will convene in January. The other top positions are (2nd L-R) Vice Chair of the Conference Charles Schumer (D-NY), Secretary of the Conference Patty Murray (D-WA) and Assistant Majority Leader Dick Durbin (D-IL).

Dem chairmanships announced

WASHINGTON (CNN) — Incoming senate Majority Leader Harry Reid, D-Nevada, announced Tuesday which Democratic senators will chair the senate’s twenty committees.

Agriculture: Sen. Tom Harkin, D-Iowa
Appropriations: Sen. Robert Byrd, D-West Virginia
Armed Services: Sen. Carl Levin, D-Michigan
Banking: Sen. Chris Dodd, D-Connecticut
Commerce: Sen. Daniel Inouye, D-Hawaii
Energy: Sen. Jeff Bingaman, D-New Mexico
Environment Public Works: Sen. Barbara Boxer, D-California
Finance: Sen. Max Baucus, D-Montana
Foreign Relations: Sen. Joe Biden, D-Delaware
Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions: Sen. Edward Kennedy, D-Massachusetts
Homeland and Government Affairs: Sen. Joe Lieberman, I-Connecticut
Judiciary: Sen. Patrick Leahy, D-Vermont
Intelligence: Sen. Jay Rockefeller, D-West Virginia
Budget: Sen. Kent Conrad, D-North Dakota
Aging: Sen. Herb Kohl, D-Wisconsin
Veterans: Sen. Daniel Akaka, D-Hawaii
Small Business: Sen. John Kerry, D-Massachusetts
Rules: Sen. Diane Feinstein, D-California
Joint Economic: Sen. Charles Schumer, D-New York
Indian Affairs: Sen. Byron Dorgan, D-North Dakota

By the way, the "moderate" Harry Reid was given an American Conservative Union rating of 4% (out of 100%) for 2005.

But compared to he new fellow Senate leaders, he’s not so bad.

The ACU also records those senators who received an absolute zero rating in 2005:

Worst of the Worst

Richard Durbin (D-IL) [Now Assistant Majority Leader]
Edward Kennedy (D-MA) [Now Chairman of Health, Education]
Patrick Leahy (D-VT) [Now Chairman of Judiciary]
Patty Murray (D-WA) [Now Secretary of the Democrat Caucus]

Our future is in capable hands.

This article was posted by Steve on Tuesday, November 14th, 2006. Comments are currently closed.

30 Responses to “Reid Gives Top Senate Spots To Worst Liberals”

Sorry, comments for this entry are closed at this time.

« Front Page | To Top
« | »